Share Us   
A nanotechnology commercialisation ecosystem that is
competitive, innovative and sustainable

Energising Industries through Nanotechnology Commercialisation

Board of Directors

Prof. Emeritus Dato' Ir. Dr. Mohamad Zawawi Bin Ismail


Dr Zawawi is currently Chairman of NanoMalaysia Berhad. He is also the Chairman of Sara-Timur Group of Companies, and of Sara-Timur Urban Development Sdn Bhd whose main activities are in engineering, construction and property development.

Dr. Zawawi gained both his bachelor and doctorate degrees in electronic engineering from the University of Leeds, England.

Dr. Zawawi maintains links with academia through currently being the Chairman, Board of Directors, National University of Malaysia. He sits on the Boards of Higher Education Leadership Academy (AKEPT), National Razak School of Government, and the Malaysian Qualifications Agency. He is also Chairman of Inti Universal Holdings Sdn Bhd, the owner of Inti Internatioanl University.

Dato' Sri Ir. Dr. Judin Abdul Karim

Dato' Sri Judin received his Bachelor of Science (Hons) Civil Engineering degree from the University Of Manchester Institute Of Science and Technology, UK and his Master of Science in Structural Engineering and Ph.D in Civil Engineering from the University of Southern California. He has been awarded the Honorary Doctorate of Engineering from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia and Honorary Doctorate of Engineering from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia.

Dato' Sri Judin is currently the President of the Malaysian Structural Steel Association (MSSA), President of the Malaysian Asset and Project Management Association (MAPMA) and Chairman of the World Road Association (PIARC) for Technological Exchanges and Development Commission.

Tan Sri Dato' Seri Dr. Salleh Bin Mohd Nor

Dr. Salleh received his BSc in Forestry from the University of Adelaide, MS and PhD from Michigan State University. A prominent figure among Malaysia's conservationist circle, Dr. Salleh has played a major role in the protection of the Malaysian environment and the conservation of nature and natural resources, particularly in his position as the Director-General of the Forest Institute of Malaysia (FRIM) and among its founders, and the President of Malaysian Nature Society (MNS).

Dr. Salleh is among the first local scientists to realize the potential of Malaysia's involvement in Antarctic research, spearheading the country's accession to the Antarctic Treaty System (ATS). He is currently the Pro-chancellor of Universiti Teknologi Malaysia.

Dato' Prof. Dr. Rujhan Bin Mustafa

Dr. Rujhann received his PhD and Master's Degree in International Economics from Ritsumeikan University, Japan.

Dr. Rujhan started his services with the Ministry of Education Malaysia (MOE) as a Deputy Dean of University Malaysia of Sarawak in 2002. Since then, he had served the Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) and various public universities. His prominent role within MOHE amongst others includes Directorship of Academic Affairs and Director General.

Dr. Rujhan is currently the Chief Executive Officer of Education Performance and Delivery Unit (PADU) under the MOE.

Dato' Ahmad Shukri Bin Hj. Tajuddin

Dato' Ahmad Shukri is currently the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and member of board of Senai Hi-Tech Park. He was also the former CEO and member of board of Kulim Hi-Tech Park (KTPC).

Dato' Ahmad Shukri has been the key personal in terms of co-founding KHTP's implementation and development master plan to which he had travelled throughout the world to market and create upstream and downstream technological activities to build KHTP to be one of the best science and technological parks in Asia.

Associate Prof. Dr. Ramzah Dambul

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ramzah Dambul is the current Deputy Secretary General (Science) of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI).

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ramzah Dambul received his PhD in Climatology from the University of East Anglia in 2007.

His niche areas include long-term prediction, forecast seasonal monsoon and the relationship between large-scale air circulation and local climate.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ramzah Dambul is a certified consultant under the Energy Information Administration (Climate Change, Landuse) and has received many international recognitions in the academic field such as the Chevening Fellowship (British Council) in 2008. He has been appointed as a Research Fellow at the Center for Climate Change Research, King Abdul Aziz University, Jeddah from 2012 to 2014.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ramzah Dambul has received 18 international and local research and innovation awards since 2008 and has been involved in 18 academic publications so far.

Datin Badriyah Binti Hj. Abd. Malek

Datin Badriyah is the current Deputy Secretary (Energy & Green Technology) of the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water.

She received her M.Sc. in Environmental Management from University of Stirling, United Kingdom and D.P.A from National Institute of Public Administration (INTAN). Since 1988, she has held various portfolios in the Government and before she was promoted, she was the Director of Energy Section, Economic Planning Unit at Prime Minister’s Department from 2014 to 2015.

Dr. Rezal Khairi Ahmad

Dr. Rezal Khairi Ahmad was appointed as the Chief Operating Officer of NanoMalaysia in June 2012. As NanoMalaysia first employee, he crafted the company structure, developed business model and corporate positioning strategy relative to like-minded government agencies and relevant industries In February 2013, Dr Rezal’s appointment was upgraded to Chief Executive Officer.

Between August 2012 and February 2013, Dr. Rezal also served as Acting Under Secretary of National Nanotechnology Directorate, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation. From June 2012 to May 2014, he came under secondment from Khazanah Nasional, an investment arm of the Government of Malaysia. Prior to that, Dr. Rezal assumed the post of Manager at GEMS Sdn. Bhd. and Business Development Manager position in a local ICT private company from 2000 to 2001.

He holds a PhD in Nanotechnology, Electronic/Electrical Engineering from London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London and Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Tenaga Nasional University.